Daily Archives: 9 November 2005

On Dealing With Sexism, Hurt, and Litanies

I’m partly to blame for some of the commentary on the place of women in the Litany of the Saints. My internet friends (if not my real-life chums) know one of my soapbox issues is the paucity of women saints … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | Leave a comment

Late Litany

It’s too late for last week, but a 6 November post on this blog got me thinking. So take some notes for the Easter Vigil. Litany of Saints: use it and sing it well. It’s not just for the Easter … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | Leave a comment

Reconciliation

First Reconciliation liturgies are among my favorites, ranking up there with Holy Thursday Mass and the Rite of Acceptance. Unlike First Communion, they are the ideal expression of how a sacrament should be celebrated in the family-plus-parish context. In the … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music, Liturgy, Parish Life | Leave a comment