Daily Archives: 30 November 2005

The RadTrads Aren’t Going To Like This

Pope Pius XIII, anybody? Whoever seeks peace and the good of the community with a pure conscience, and keeps alive the desire for the transcendent, will be saved even if he lacks biblical faith, says Benedict XVI.

Posted in Church News, Commentary | Leave a comment

Rhea Up Close

This image was taken when Cassini was about 325 miles from Rhea. Lots of small craters, but a few larger ones seem seriously malformed by geological activity. The resolution is about 50 to 100 feet I think. A bit rougher … Continue reading

Posted in Astronomy | Leave a comment

Commentariat on Commonweal on ICEL

Ha. It’s online; I didn’t need to wait till Fr John finished his latest dose of Commonweal. Amy’s commentariat is already in full swing, heading toward a hundred-post thread by tomorrow. I read the article earlier today and I found … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | Leave a comment

Commonweal, Liturgy, and the Fab Four

Rock is naturally up on the latest Commonweal. I saw it on my pastor’s desk yesterday, but he said I’ll have to wait till he’s done for me to read it. I did catch Terry Gross interviewing Bob Spitz, the … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Music | Leave a comment

Here Comes the Bride … Singing?

A basic article on wedding music by Lucy Carroll in the same Adoremus caught my eye, mainly for this single comment: In the frantic days immediately after the Second Vatican Council, I remember reading of an “experimental” and short-lived wedding … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy, My Family | Leave a comment

“Where Have We Put Him?”

A nice opinion piece in Adoremus by a Washington state priest, Father W. Roy Floch. Nice, of course, in the sense it is well-written, thoughtful, and honest. Nice also in the sense that it confirms much of my recent thinking … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | Leave a comment

The Princess Line?

I kid you not. Peruse here. Also, my first exposure to this compound word: praisewear. That’s not pray-swear. But that wouldn’t be far off from some people’s reaction to liturgical dance.

Posted in Commentary | Leave a comment

Clerical Narcissism

I dropped the bomb on this yesterday. I should probably explain my thinking. First, narcissism is a personality quirk that knows no ideology. Musicians, tempted by the performance aspect of their art, are quite vulnerable. But musicians of all sorts: … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, Liturgy, Ministry | Leave a comment

DH 10: No Coercion

Dignitatis Humanae 10 tells it true: no one is to be forced to become a Christian. This doctrine is contained in the word of God and it was constantly proclaimed by the Fathers of the Church. The act of faith … Continue reading

Posted in Dignitatis Humanae | Leave a comment