Daily Archives: 4 December 2005

O Holy Night

Liam’s sound suggestion for a Christmas classic: I would like to take this opportunity to plead for the reversal of a great wrong done to what has become a traditional piece of Christmas hymnody: what is known as O Holy … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music | Leave a comment

DH 14: What About the Church’s Role?

Dignitatis Humanae 14 brings us back to a consideration of the Church’s role in religious freedom. We claim the freedom. In many places we possess it. What do we do with it? First, spread the Word: (T)he Catholic Church must … Continue reading

Posted in Dignitatis Humanae | Leave a comment

A recommendation for a contemporary Advent anthem: Eternal Light (by Jane Marshall)

From Liam, part 2: 1. Eternal Light, shine in my heart; eternal hope, lift up my eyes; eternal power, be my support; eternal wisdom, make me wise. 2. Eternal Life, raise me from death; eternal brightness, help me see; eternal … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music | Leave a comment