What She Started

While I was in the doctor’s exam room yesterday, an interesting morality play unfolded in the waiting room. Our daughter had to go to the bathroom, and my wife vaguely pointed out the direction. Brittany came to the door with the men’s sign next to it, and my wife, looking up as it came to pass, debated a potentially embarassing call across the room. During freeze-frame, Brit went in. Anita reported one or two questioning gazes from some people: did you really allow your daughter to use the men’s room?

Just a minute later, Anita said she saw an elderly woman go through the same door. Was it my imagination, she mentioned to me later, but I thought the same person looked at me as if to say, look what you started.

Me? I use the bathroom before I leave the house. Works better that way.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

