Daily Archives: 23 January 2006

Gaudium et Spes 11: To the Heart of the Document

Part I of Gaudium et Spes is entitled “The Church and Man’s Calling” And yes, we’re just getting to Part I. (Don’t be alarmed; the document contains only 93 sections.) The People of God believes that it is led by … Continue reading

Posted in Gaudium et Spes | Leave a comment

Gifts Or Needs

Generally speaking, are your parish volunteers recruited on a gifts basis or on a needs basis? The difference? Here are two sample appeals: Bulletin: “I need some good singers to cantor at the 12 noon Mass. Sign up in the … Continue reading

Posted in Parish Life | Leave a comment

Wild Dust Tamed

Here’s some comet dust embedded in aerogel, fresh from its triumphant return from Comet Wild-2. The science guys are going bananas over early results; it appears the collection attempt was wildly successful. “This exceeded all of our grandest expectations,” said … Continue reading

Posted in Astronomy | Leave a comment

The Order of the Holy Hand Grenade

As Todd noted below, Bernard Brandt has generously awarded me the Order of the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch for what Bernard judges to be my “charitable and truly intelligent application of Orthodox theology in his essays.” I really don’t … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

Deus Caritas Est: Abba Isaiah and John Wesley

I’m rather reticent about discussing my (unimpressive) personal life here. But I’m happy to let you know that I’m going to be married on June 3. To a Methodist. My beloved and I take very seriously our vocation to be … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

Day 6 – The Week of Prayer for Christian Unity

The Council was able to embrace the ecumenical movement because it understood the church as a whole as movement, namely as the people of God on the move. Or to formulate it another way: the Council ascribed new relevance to … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

Antarcticana

Is that even a word? Here’s the actual South Pole station: See how the geodesic dome on the left is nearly buried? That’s why those orange buildings were put up: to replace it. William Fox’s excellent book Terra Antarctica has … Continue reading

Posted in Other Places | Leave a comment

Not Quite The Gleam Of Electric Sex, But …

My blog colleague Neil is now a major award-winner. Sorry. Not that, but this: Kudos, my friend.

Posted in Commentary | Leave a comment

Update on GS, the Parish, the Usual Suspects

Careful readers will note I haven’t kept up a rapid pace with Gaudium et Spes. Hopefully your commentary has been withheld because you’re busy getting ready for your parish adult ed on the Vatican II documents. Or we could hope, … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, My Family, Parish Life, Vatican II | Leave a comment