The Order of the Holy Hand Grenade



As Todd noted below, Bernard Brandt has generously awarded me the Order of the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch for what Bernard judges to be my “charitable and truly intelligent application of Orthodox theology in his essays.” I really don’t feel that I deserve this award. But the introduction to the theme for the texts for this Week of Prayer for Christian Unity reminds us: “Nothing is small if done out of love. No act of love, no simple witnessing or cooperating in Jesus’ name, no coming together in prayer is without its purpose and value in responding to the Lord’s desire that his disciples be one.” I can’t imagine that anything that I have done is more than “small” or “simple,” and I know that some of what I have written has been tainted by prejudice and selfishness. But perhaps it still has its own humble “purpose and value in responding to the Lord’s desire that his disciples be one.” This is my hope.

So I accept the award with gratitude, not in the least so that I can direct you to Bernard’s excellent blog. I accept it with gratitude for those who have taught me and continue to teach me. And, since Metropolitan Meliton once declared that the work of Orthodox-Catholic dialogue was “to listen, not to make speeches,” I’ll shut up.

Now, let’s sing “All Things Dull and Ugly” together.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Neil. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

