Daily Archives: 27 January 2006

Booking It

Blogging live from the Johnson County Library today. Not much to report. Tons–literally tons of good books. The first thing I do when I move to a new town is get a library card. Here in KC, I have three: … Continue reading

Posted in Miscellaneous | Leave a comment

Two Poems on Iraq

There are subjects on which I would blog more, if I only knew how. One is Iraq. I can direct you to the Evangelical theologian David Gushee’s “Against Torture,” a fuller version of an article in Christianity Today. Gushee argues … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

A White Wedding Day Tale

  My sweetie is still sleeping, so I may have time to sneak another post or two on the site before it’s time to rustle up some breakfast. School faculty inservice today, so Brit is happily playing in her room. … Continue reading

Posted in My Family | 1 Comment

No Tin or Aluminum, Please

This British site tallies the various wedding anniversary traditions. Traditional 10th wedding anniversary presents have a theme of Aluminium and Tin. That’s what I remembered from my Dad’s list. What’s the thought here, people: wrap something tin in aluminum foil, … Continue reading

Posted in Miscellaneous, My Family | Leave a comment

Rhea on Display

You can get a little more Rhea info here if you care to do so. This image was enhanced with filters gathering light from the infrared and ultraviolet, so is a little more colorful than it would be through normal … Continue reading

Posted in Astronomy | Leave a comment