Daily Archives: 15 March 2006

Gaudium et Spes 27

The question was asked in a comment box about our duty to a neighbor who is able to work, but refuses. Such a thing might be offensive to a sense of fairness, but there are two problems with the example. … Continue reading

Posted in Gaudium et Spes | Leave a comment

Jumping in the Big Pond

Amy has opened the book on the Boston Catholic Charities and great gay adoption adventure. The commentariat isn’t far behind. I said my piece there already, and besides, my readers here are well aware of what emphasis I place on … Continue reading

Posted in Adoption, Commentary | Leave a comment

Just A Letter Makes the Difference

Look over at my sidebar. Go on. I put up a link to another blog, Pat’s Caritas Christi Urget Nos joins Richard’s Caritas Christi Vrget Nos. The Romans didn’t have all the letters we modern westerners have. Go read the … Continue reading

Posted in Miscellaneous, On My Bookshelf | Leave a comment

Brakes and Angels

“Thank you, Guardian angels,” my wife said. “Whoa. That was scary,” my daughter said. I tapped the dashboard and said, “Good car; good brakes.” We had just pulled off the interstate a mile from our house after a dinner out … Continue reading

Posted in My Family | Leave a comment