On My Bookshelf


Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, which, though a bit slow going at the start, has a deep appeal. The author herself describes it as influenced by Jane Austen and J.R.R. Tolkien (among others). How can you go wrong with that?

I found a copy of Richard Ford’s The Sportswriter a few weeks ago at Half Price Books. I read the first thirty pages, but I’ve set it aside for a bit. That book above is a hefty volume and I’ll probably need all of four weeks to read it before I return it to the library.

I picked up this book today after my wife’s allergist appointment: Oceans Of Kansas: A Natural History Of The Western Interior Sea. Naturally, the ID crowd would frown, but the cover is way cool.



Anybody for a swim?

Thought not.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in On My Bookshelf, Science, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On My Bookshelf

  1. Caitlin says:

    I’ll have to check that one out. We’re pulling together a list of Catholicism in Science Fiction at http://www.thecatholicwiki.com/wiki/Catholicism_in_Science_Fiction.

    Peace,
    Caitlin

Leave a Reply

