Daily Archives: 22 June 2006

Professor Pelikan

As you will remember, the distinguished church historian Jaroslav Pelikan recently passed away. Another church historian, Martin Marty, has a memorable column about him in the current issue of the Christian Century, which hopefully won’t mind if I excerpt a … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

The Theology of Trees

After our wedding, my wife and I had the opportunity to spend several days in the Olympic Peninsula. It was impossible not to be impressed by the beauty, venerability, and the fragility of the ancient forests. Some of the fragility … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

Catholics at Mass: Don’t They Sing?

In my experience they do. I’ve always been amused by Thomas Day’s premise–which implies nobody sings. I find myself scratching my head over the notion that people don’t sing because the music is so bad compared to the good old … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music | Leave a comment