Daily Archives: 4 August 2006

The Call to Repentance

Before I begin, I would like to wish you all a happy weekend. I will try to post more in Todd’s absence, but won’t have a chance to do so until Monday. … In his current “Life in Christ” column, … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

When Monks Go Bad: “Second Abbots” and the Rule of St Benedict

This isn’t about some unfortunate battle at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. It is rather about the most dangerous person in any Benedictine Monastery. Who can this be? The young novice? The cellarer? The abbot? As Andrew Marr reminds … Continue reading

Posted in Monasticism, Neil | Leave a comment

Finding God

Off to retreat now. I trust you’ll have enjoyable conversations with Neil and one another in my absence. I know I’ll be enjoying encounters with God free of form criticism, redaction criticism, and the like. Hopefully, y’all will too. Don’t … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | Leave a comment