Daily Archives: 3 October 2006

“Let us Forgive and Ask Forgiveness!”: The Possibility of Mutual Forgiveness

Well, since Todd’s sorry to hear that I planned to take a break, I’ll see what I can do (sorry – no promises). Perhaps we can continue our discussion of mimetic desire. Once more, to borrow from Michael Kirwan, we … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

Lumen Gentium 54

Why did Vatican II address Mary and her role (Lumen Gentium 52-69)? Here’s what the bishops hoped to accomplish: Wherefore this Holy Synod, in expounding the doctrine on the Church, in which the divine Redeemer works salvation, intends to describe … Continue reading

Posted in Lumen Gentium | Leave a comment

The Violent Sacred

I probably won’t be posting anything more this week. This is only partly because I have nothing to say – after all, that never really stopped me before. I’ll just be busy. But I can contribute an excerpt from a … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | Leave a comment

Lumen Gentium 53

You’ll probably find these Lumen Gentium sections on Mary, though well-footnoted, to be less dense than what preceded them. Today’s section finds the council bishops laying their case for the Catholic affection for the Mother of God: The Virgin Mary, … Continue reading

Posted in Lumen Gentium | Leave a comment