My Little Speller

scan0004.jpgThe school spelling bee was today. I knew most of the kids in it, including my own daughter. I’ll tell you it’s hard to sit on my hands and keep my mouth shut for it. I found myself rooting for all the kids, especially when they toughened up the words after round six.

Brittany made it to round nine, where she stumbled on “disastrous.” But a fifth place finish against 8th, 7th, 6th, 5th graders, and another 4th grade speller is far from a disaster.

First response when I went to hug her afterward, “Dad, can we go out to eat tonight?”

You bet. I’m very proud of you.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Little Speller

  1. Dale Price says:

    Congratulations and kudos to her, especially given the fierce competition! I finished fifth in my first bee, too. But it was only against fellow fifth graders, and I crashed and burned on “royal.” Yikes. Talk about disasters…. :)

  2. Brigid says:

    How did I miss this post? How wonderul. Thanks for sharing your family, Todd. I always appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

