Canada Dollars

Many years ago in Iowa, my wife purchased this nice coin for me, imaged on the right.

Since my boyhood days sifting through pocket change in Upstate New York, I collected Canadian coins alongside US issues. I don’t find anything in Kansas City, so I’m pretty much left to purchasing if I’d want to widen my Canada collectibles.

I’ve never had a strong drive to collect whole series in silver or gold. As a kid, I stuck to the more economical copper coins. Such economy still works for me today, as I’m on a family budget.

But I found myself enjoying my gift, its mirrored surface and frosty moose. I also found these dollars were fun to collect. During last week’s visit to Iowa, I visited my friend Sam’s coin store in Fort Dodge and found some more additions to my dollar collection. Like this nice design for the Toronto sesquicentennial on the left. And these early nineties beauties below:

I’ve long hoped to acquire the Toronto commemorative, but the Frontenac coin is now my favourite. You can’t really see it in these images from this site, but the detail on the small stuff, like the fishing pole, is superb. My brother, Lynn, was impressed with the quality we saw in many of the Canadian coins we looked through that day.

My collection is now about 80% complete through 1995. It’s very hard to find the recent issues in Kansas City. Sam thinks the Canadian mint issues are potentially good collectibles for investment. Compared to US coins, very low mintages. If a fraction of US collectors caught the bug for northern dollars, getting hold of them might become very difficult.

Anita also got her first proof coin, in honor of her love for bunnies, this bullion issue from Australia:

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in coins. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canada Dollars

  1. Is that a Chinese character on it? Any idea why that is on an Australian coin?

  2. Todd says:

    The Aussies are near the end of a twelve year series on the Chinese New Year.

Leave a Reply

