Confirmation at the Parish

My bishop visited for confirmation this evening. Everything went smoothly: music, servers, lectors, and we got a good homily. Bishop Finn preached largely with a smile on his face. He takes care with his vocal delivery these days; it’s a clear improvement over the first few homilies I heard from him. He’s a better preacher than our previous bishop and always a mindful, prayerful presider.

Regardless of what others may say about him, he strikes me as being a hard-working bishop. More importantly, he works hard at the things a bishop is supposed to do: this comes through very clearly over time. He’ll be back for Mass Monday morning and an outdoor Eucharistic Procession and living rosary on Monday evening. One of my fellow KC bloggers is all over this event, but I don’t know if he’s yet made the connection this is my parish. Wouldn’t want to discourage him from coming.

The teens chose a reading I’ve never heard at a confirmation before: Luke’s parable of the sower and the seed. The bishop preached on the eternal quality of the seed sown in the Christian. And he was very encouraging to young people.

The music was fun to do. I had another pick-up choir: seven select singers from the adult choirs and cantor crew, plus a cellist and another musician on flute and oboe. My wife was the psalmist on my old setting of the 104th. We had a nice oboe/piano duet on Veni Creator Spiritus at Preparation. I really enjoyed one singer who was always smiling big when we were singing tonight. That always reminds me to lighten up, too.

Bishop Finn and I will see you at the rosary Monday night, right?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confirmation at the Parish

  1. wolftracker says:

    Todd: I regret that I will miss this event due to surgery that morning. I was looking forward to meeting you. Hope you have pictures of the event to post and let your readers, of which I am one, know how it went.

    Best to you,

    Wolftracker

  2. Todd says:

    Thank you, wt. I will make sure one of our photographers is ready for Monday night, hopefully with a digital camera. Perhaps we’ll have something on Tuesday. Meanwhile, I hope your procedure goes smoothly; I will try to remember to keep you in my prayers these next few days.

Leave a Reply

