The Armchair Liturgist: Birthday and Red Clothing

I’m sure I’ve blogged about the red clothing sometimes requested for this day. If you didn’t comment before or if you are new, what would you say if you were the liturgist?

While we all realize today’s feast is indeed the “birthday” of the Church, what do you think of the terminology? In other words, do you feel “birthday” has sufficient gravitas for Pentecost? If not, is there another term that conveys what many priests and liturgists are trying to communicate? Or perhaps we should just junk the notion and stick with the red decorations.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Armchair Liturgist. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Armchair Liturgist: Birthday and Red Clothing

  1. Gavin says:

    I wore red today, I think it’s a good practice. I try to match up with the liturgical color, even if it means I’m wearing green for a few months!

    I think “birthday” is a fine term, although I guess some may associate it with balloons and clowns and cake. So long as it’s understood properly, I think including some form of celebration of the beginning of the Church is very much appropriate and even necessary.

  2. Anne says:

    I understand the term “Birthday”but I’m not a big fan of calling Pentecost the Birthday of the Church”. We’re not celebrating only something that occured centuries ago. Pentecost is also a celebration of something that is happening in the church today to all of us who are baptised and confirmed. We’ve all received the power of the Spirit. Pentecost happens all the time.

  3. Marilyn says:

    birthday? that association really escapes my own (admittedly common) understanding of this extraordinary event in the church that is (I thought) Sacramental in nature…more like Confirmation of the Church…the notion that the church began with this event and not, say, at Jesus’ baptism or the Last Supper is new and seems narrow.

Leave a Reply

