Limping In and Out of Vacation

It’s hard to call it a vacation when I don’t actually go out of town. I think I had about four calls from the office this week about stuff. I called there once and dropped by one evening to make sure a “special” Mass was ready to go for some guests.

I was back at my desk today rummaging through e-mail, v-mail, and other mail. Saturday is my usual last-minute day for polishing up the prayers of the faithful. If I type and print up the final copy mid-afternoon, I’ll catch everybody reported as deceased or sick. I also note we have three baptisms this weekend. My liturgical presence will be minimal tomorrow: sacristan for 11:30 Mass, play at 5PM.

If it wasn’t a get-away vacation, it was restful time at home. I managed a fair start on the home improvement projects. Early in the week, I rewired our spare bedroom for digital phone and internet access. I was hoping to repair last fall’s soccer damage to the deck, but after getting it about 1/4th done, the rains came on Wednesday. It’s been raining pretty much all the time the past four days, so the other outside stuff: cutting down a few trees and collecting various clippings–including last years’ and cleaning the gutters didn’t get done.

My wife’s gastro-enterologist recommended some sleeping adjustments. So we took advantage of the opportunity to clean out our bedroom and I tilted the bed frame to lift our heads about six inches above our feet. I tell you, it is weird sleeping like that. But I’m not sliding down as much as I thought I would.

Brittany and I have been doing puzzles. A 500-piece painting of a covered bridge is still incomplete on the breakfast bar. We’ve all been watching movies: Ratatouille at the theatre yesterday, plus an all-time unique double-feature in the history of the world: A Man For All Seasons and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

I have a few interesting non-fiction books from the library. I finished Michael Maccambridge’s America’s Game which was exceedingly thorough. On the shelf still: something on climate change, a novel by Michael Cunningham, and a few other tomes I hope to finish by the time real vacation rolls around next month.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Limping In and Out of Vacation

  1. Pingback: University Update - Ratatouille - Limping In and Out of Vacation

Leave a Reply

