Daily Archives: 4 July 2007

Motumania: Vote Early and Often

Despite the disclaimer from the editor: Instant polls are intended as entertainment. They are not considered to be true measurements of public opinion. … some Catholics are hawking for votes here. Democracy is the last refuge of the traditionalists. Count … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, Liturgy | 2 Comments

Not Impressed

“I domesticated myself so naturally I’m not impressed with your new cell phone camera. By the way, where’s my massage and my dinner?”

Posted in My Family, not impressed | Leave a comment

Hyperion Hydrocarbons

Go to this link for a press release on discoveries at Saturn’s eighth largest moon, Hyperion. Water and carbon dioxide ices are plentiful, as is a compound ice made up of carbon dioxide and an unidentified material. I’m interested in … Continue reading

Posted in Astronomy | Leave a comment

Eucharisticum Mysterium 55-57: More on Tabernacles

The Consilium reviews the ways in which Christ is present liturgically and how this relates to the reserved Eucharist: 55. In the celebration of Mass the principal modes of Christ’s presence to his Church [See no. 9 of this Instruction.] … Continue reading

Posted in Eucharisticum Mysterium, Liturgy, post-conciliar liturgy documents | 1 Comment

Citing Sources, Copyright, and Fair Use

As an undergraduate, the rules of the research game were drilled into us by our university. At least I found that to be true for me and my college friends.When I wrote papers in college, it took more energy typing … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary | 1 Comment

Motumania: Countdown By Hours

If the Catholic blogosphere had it’s own circuit, I think it would be blown on Saturday. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not. The Rorate Caeli blog reports the first two words of the motu proprio as … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | Leave a comment

The Place For Space in a Catholic Sensibility

I’d like to thank Randolph Nichols for his kind comment on the Full Moon post below. As I learned during childhood staring into the Kansas night, the heavenly bodies induce a sense of wonderment as nothing else. It doesn’t surprise … Continue reading

Posted in Astronomy, Commentary, spirituality | Leave a comment

Eucharisticum Mysterium 52-54: Reserving the Eucharist

The following sections were the source of the post-conciliar development often troubling to lay people, bishops, and others: the placement of the tabernacle and the location for devotional prayer. First rule, no problem: only one per church. 52. Where the … Continue reading

Posted in Eucharisticum Mysterium, Liturgy, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment