Deathly Hallows

Psst! Don’t tell my wife. I finished the last HP book without her.

It’s been seven years of reading since the summer I first gobbled down books one through four. I enjoyed this story. Very much. One howling editing error–a day in the narrative that seemed to last about an hour or two, but otherwise it is a good book and a great read.

To me, Prisoner of Azkaban still stands as the zenith of the series for its plotting, pace, and sheer surprise. I’ll need to digest book seven a bit before I decide where it sits in the Potter pantheon.

I think I’d rate the series in order: 3, 6, 4, 5, 1, 2.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in On My Bookshelf. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deathly Hallows

  1. I really liked 5, 6 and 7 because of their focus on the brilliant character of Snape.

    I was sort of disappointed with the deaths in this book as I don’t think any of them will really be that dramatic on screen, except perhaps Lupin. Had they killed Hermoine or Ron, it would have made for a better movie scene.

Leave a Reply

