Red Seas Under Red Skies

I enjoyed Scott Lynch’s second novel, and I’d recommend it to any reader, as I would his first, which I posted on earlier this year.

Lynch has gotten a lot of attention with his writing. Well-deserved, I would say. The few reviews I’ve seen think Red Seas is a superior book. Probably, imo. There were elements of this book that made it seem more like a patchwork of his main characters’ lives. It wasn’t quite as single-minded as the first book. Which isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy the pirate interlude in the middle of the narrative. I got to fifty pages before the end and I wondered when Locke and his friend were finally going to tie all their plans together–and was that Lynch going to leave a monster cliffhanger now that he got his contract. But things got settled mostly satisfactorily.

The fantasy/sf publishing industry certainly has its mind made up to publish serials, and while I prefer stand-alone books (and movies, for that matter) if the story and characters have hooked us, who’s to say we’re not going to read the rest of the tale.

Shows a darned lack of trust in the abilities of the sf readership universe and its authors, though.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in On My Bookshelf, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Seas Under Red Skies

  1. Pingback: On My Bookshelf: The Republic of Thieves | Catholic Sensibility

Leave a Reply

