Daily Archives: 24 November 2007

The Armchair Liturgist: Fodder For Prayers

In nearly twenty years as a parish liturgist, I have yet to uncover the perfect recipe for providing prayers of the faithful on Sundays and holy days. In one parish, I had a group of parishioners who wrote for given … Continue reading

Posted in The Armchair Liturgist | 1 Comment

Gnosticism and Contemporary Church Music

There’s a lively discussion on Vox Nova’s chant thread. One commenter, “Ut videam,” plays the anti-Gnosticism card this morning. Exactly to what this is a response, I’m not sure. My point on the thread was that an absolute faithfulness to … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music | 17 Comments

Straight Talk From the Clerical Trenches

Father Paul Stanosz’s piece, “The Other Health Crisis,” in Commonweal caught my eye when I was at the public library yesterday. And behold, Commonweal posts it on their web site. There’s a lot of ponder in it, so click the … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry | 2 Comments