Pray for Peace

My colleague Susie from a nearby parish hosts a monthly liturgy at her parish devoted to music from Taize and contemplative silence. She invited me to sit in with the musicians last night, so I brought my hammer dulcimer.

I had not sung or played any of the “new” music from Taize (post-Jacques Berthier) and it was still floating through my head this morning when I woke up.

We began with the only “non-Taize” piece, Barbara Bridge’s “Litany of Peace,” followed by Psalm 37, silence, “Da Pacem,” silence, intercessory prayers to one of the Kyrie’s, then silence, then “Confitemini Domino” during the Prayer around the Cross, then “Jesus Remember Me,” then more silence, then a verse of Veni Emmanuel, then silence, the Lord’s Prayer (chanted), some silence, then “I Am Sure I Shall See” to conclude.

I had to be sure my chromatic upper strings were tuned, with the floating C-minor and F-major of “Da Pacem.” The common dulcimers don’t have that upper stretch of flatted notes in the upper register. Sometimes I don’t tune them if I’m playing diatonic music in the sharp keys. With the change in weather and locale (I’ve been keeping my hd at home the past few months) the whole instrument needed retuning–it was about a half-step sharp.

My favorite was the last Taize piece (linked above).

If you’re in the neighborhood, I’d recommend coming to pray. I had hesitated about accepting the invitation at first, thinking the December days are precious family time. But I was glad for the time of prayer.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

