Daily Archives: 19 December 2007

Maria Schneider

My friend Joe and I were accompanying our parish children’s choir (under his wife’s direction) at their Union Station gig on Saturday. Before the singing started we got into a discussion about Maria Schneider. I had read that she picked … Continue reading

Posted in Music | Leave a comment

“The Ox Knows His Owner”: The Nativity Icon

(This is Neil.) I wonder if some of my readers remembered – hopefully, in prayer – that yesterday marked the 300th anniversary of Charles Wesley’s birth. Actually, I’ll post something more substantial about Charles Wesley later. I want to quickly … Continue reading

Posted in Neil | 2 Comments

RP 36-37: Penitential Services

Leaving aside form III we come to non-sacramental penance services. These aspects of the rite are just about totally ignored. First a definition: 36. Penitential services are gatherings of the people of God to hear God’s word as an invitation … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy, Rite of Penance, Rites | Leave a comment

Joseph In The Scene

A Zenit piece today reports on the Vatican nativity scene to represent the Holy Family in the home of Joseph. This is striking news. I’m eager to uncover a web image of it after the Christmas Eve unveiling. Art historian … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | 2 Comments