Twelfth Night

Last night is when it was. We were busy eating homemade pizza and watching football (one of the cat teams versus our friend Tom’s Steelers). I was thinking this morning about the great movie adaptation of one of my favorite Shakespeare comedies. We’ve been watching lots of movies over the vacation, sometimes on their appropriate days.
The current generation will remember Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange, but she does a good Edwardian turn in this film. Most of the rest of the cast does a better acting turn than HBC, but the whole feel of the film is great.

I believe Anita got it for me on video last birthday or Christmas. Now if I can just find it in this mess …

We also have a tape of a PBS production with Helen Hunt. Again, somewhere, probably on an unmarked video cassette. That was good, too, but I really like this film version. Now that I have it in my head, I must see it.

Update: the Trevor Nunn adaptation includes two characters from Order of the Phoenix. My daughter picked them both out right away, starting with the actor who plays Umbridge.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in film. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twelfth Night

  1. gerald kirk says:

    I have desperately been seeking a copy of Twelfth night with Helen Hunt for a number of years now and note that you might have a copy lurking about somewhere. This performance was never available in the UK and I would be interested in buying your copy if you were willing. Thanks.

  2. Todd says:

    Hi Gerald. To my knowledge this was never released in any format one can purchase. It was actually a broadcast of a stage performance. My wife taped it when it aired on PBS, and I’m afraid I wouldn’t be able to copy it or send you our copy.

    Though I’m a Helen Hunt fan, I didn’t think this version was quite as good. But that’s comparing the virtue of stage (live performance) against the abilities of a film director working on location.

  3. Todd says:

    Thanks Jimmy. That’s the Trevor Nunn film. I looked on Amazon, iMDB, and the PBS Store site with no luck.

  4. gerald kirk says:

    Thank you Todd and Jimmy.
    I will keep looking.

  5. Melissa says:

    I too have been looking for a copy of the Helen Hunt PBS version for years. I keep hoping I’ll hear that PBS has decided to re-air it or to release it for sale.

Leave a Reply

