From The Earth To The Moon

Over the Christmas holidays I finally had the chance to view the whole mini-series From The Earth To The Moon. Anita and Brittany gave it to me for my birthday last month. Several years ago I saw four or five episodes in syndication. It was nice to see the whole thing.

I enjoyed the variety of approaches from the different writers and directors. It was interesting to see so many of Tom Hanks’ acting colleagues in the different episodes.

My favorite episode was probably part 10, Galileo Was Right, which depicted how astronaut Jack Schmitt upgraded the science training of the Apollo astronauts by recruiting his college professor Lee Silver. The producers took liberties with reality, but the excitement over the science was stirring–almost made me regret leaving geology and astronomy for church ministry.

This is a wonderful series: great viewing for the family.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, film. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From The Earth To The Moon

  1. FrLarry says:

    Amen! It is a great series that I highly recommend. My favorite episode is “Spider”. It’s a very positive show that shows the great joy that can come from solving complicated engineering problems. I have actually used scenes from the series in RCIA. For example, from “Galileo Was Right”, I have used Silvers’ example of context to help teach biblical hermeneutics in a simple way non-experts can understand. Can I suggest a book for your next birthday? Try “Apollo: The Race to the Moon” by Charles Murray & Catherine Bly Cox. I’ve read it so many times the pages are falling out!

  2. I completely agree Todd — and I envy you for being able to see the whole series. Three episodes are all I have seen, usually while travelling. But I agree with you both, “Spider” and “Galilleo was Right” were excellent.

Leave a Reply

