Big Changes On The Horizon

Below is the slightly edited text of a letter to parishioners I wrote for this week’s bulletin. As I request prayers of my parishioners, I also ask them of my internet readers. My wife, especially, is having a difficult time of it. She’s a little more alarmed at the uncertainty, but I feel very much at peace. Also excited about the prospects that have been revealing themselves to me. I feel very blessed to have these possibilities, and I hope the changes will not be too hard on my family, or on the parishioners at St Thomas More Parish.

Dear Parishioners, 

It is with sadness I announce the end of my ministry as Parish Liturgist at St Thomas More. After some discussion with Blake and Fr Don, it has been determined to adjust the staffing in the area of liturgy and music at our parish. I will not be part of that future.   

I would simply ask for three things from you. First, I appreciate your prayers as I enter a mid-life discernment on what I’ll be doing the next twenty or so years.  

Any successful job search depends on contacts, so I don’t mind your suggestions for meaningful work. I’ve already begun investigating alternate employment in the consulting and journalism fields. Those close to me have urged me not to leave church ministry entirely, but it may also be time to take a break from that aspect of what I do. I’ve been pleased to learn of exciting opportunities of working with parishes, believers, and faith communities outside of a traditional staff role. 

I would urge you to build on the firm foundation in liturgical ministry STM has known since long before I arrived here. Our parishioners and pastor deserve the best efforts to enhance welcoming, music, and other lay-driven ministries. 

Once we get through the Holy Week and Easter celebrations, I’ll be devoting time with staff and liturgy volunteers to shifting my responsibilities to appropriate people. I trust the goal will not be to maintain things as they are. Ideally, the table will be set for STM to continue to grow through a lively, informed, and dedicated role for laypeople under the leadership of our pastor. 

I hope those who have labored long for parish liturgy at STM will continue in dedication. I urge newcomers to the parish to get involved in worship. We have over 400 volunteers under the liturgy umbrella, but there is always work for a new pair of hands to do. 

It has indeed been a blessing to serve Christ and his Gospel with you through worship and prayer these past six years. 

Peace to all!  

Todd

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Big Changes On The Horizon

  1. Freder1ck says:

    Lord have mercy! I’ll keep my eyes open for you.

  2. Neil says:

    Dear Todd,

    I was just about to send you a short note saying that I would be out of the country until Easter, and wouldn’t be able to comment on Psalm 38 or anything else …

    Let me just say that you and your family will be in my prayers. I’m sure that this can’t be easy, but I am at least happy to read that you find yourself at peace.

    Best,
    Neil

  3. Liam says:

    Todd

    My prayers are with you and your family and your parish. I myself have taken the path of leaving a familiar profession (legal work in the investment management industry) and embarking on a portfolio career (as personal coach, volunteer and lawyer) with all the thrills that entails.

    May this Holy Week and Triduum plant seeds in you for the discenment you need.

  4. Anne says:

    Sorry about this Todd. I continue to hear more and more stories like yours. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. Administrative decisions that effect pastoral services seem to be changing parish life all over. Can’t help but wonder about the future.

  5. Tony says:

    Todd,

    The money quote of your announcement, to me, was this:

    I feel very much at peace

    You have placed your trust firmly in God, and are reaping the rewards. I will pray for your discernment, and peace in the hearts of your family. If there’s anything I can do to help, please let me know. You have my e-mail.

  6. Todd,

    I hope this time of change and transition for you and your family – and STM Parish – will find all involved “very much at peace.” Judging from your work here, I’d say a position in journalism would fit you to a T! And I hope wherever you head that you’ll continue to blog on topics liturgical, astronomical and general.

  7. kiwi_nomad06 says:

    Thinking of you and your family Todd, and hope you are soon able to find a new position that you can put your heart into.

  8. Todd:

    Sorry to hear it, and I hope things work out. I’ll pray for your situation.

  9. Todd,

    I hope that this means — as God closes one door, ten more will now open for you :)

  10. crystal says:

    Todd, I’m sorry to hear this. I hope the future holds something even better for you. You guys are in my prayers.

  11. Dear Todd:

    I am terribly sorry to hear of this. My prayers, of course, are with you. May you soon gain new employment.

  12. Copernicus says:

    You have my prayers too. Good luck with whatever comes next. I hope you can continue your excellent blog.

  13. Anne says:

    I agree about the blog….more than ever these days, we need “Catholic Sensibility”!

  14. kiwi_nomad06 says:

    Todd,
    I am pretty much going to be ‘off’ the blogging map for the next few months as I travel, but I hope that soon things sort out for your future employment, and that any moves are not too chaotic and stressful for your family.
    Margaret

Leave a Reply

