Poison

The pope sends a message tailor-made for the Catholic blogosphere. Anybody listening?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Church News, The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poison

  1. It really is a problem — and I admit, I can be a part of it, and I am not sure what the solution is. There needs to be communication, but when communication is warped so it is monologues of people screaming at each other, what is there to do?

  2. Todd says:

    Agreed, Henry, and I confess also I’ve been a part of it for ten years.

    I certainly think self-congratulatory efforts like the Catholic Blog awards could be suspended until Catholic bloggers as a community deal with the more important issues.

  3. Liam says:

    The Catholic Blog awards are an embarrassment, IMNSHO. The number of voters isn’t even large enough to qualify as a joke by Internet standards (about 1,200 this year, it seems). And the gang-like voting patterns partakes far too much of a fraternity/sorority for my taste.

    Here are some categories I would like to see (feel free to add your own):

    1. Most willing to reconsider an opinion
    2. Most able to persuade skeptics and “opponents”
    3. Most charitable in characterizing the positions of “opponents”
    4. Most charitably zealous for the salvation of individual souls encountered on their blog
    5. Most rhetorically modest

    All that said, I think the blogger who has shown the most zeal in St Blog’s to save souls in the past two years has been Mark Shea in his treatment of the torture debate and the so-called “Coalition for Fog”. Mark has been intemperate even to the point of vituperation on this issue (and y’all know how I *hate* vituperation), but signally without *malice* – instead, with zealous love for the souls he is trying to hearken back to the fold, as it were (in the style of afflicting the comfortable conscience…).

    I think it’s important for me to illustrate something against what would otherwise seem to be my principles, just to show the fuller meaning behind my words.

    A blessed and joyous Easter to you all.

  4. kiwi_nomad06 says:

    As a blogger on the edges of the church, I can tell you that there are some blogs out there that don’t get involved in the shenangigans. Some bloggers seek to inspire others, and don’t bother with the arguments.

  5. I was discussing this with my mother the other day. In part, I think the “bigger” and “more viewers” a blog gets, the more likely it will get repeat viewers who become a temptation to the bloggers to respond in an uncharitable way. Kiwi_nomad is right; those blogs not too well known/read tend to be very charitable (my work before Vox Nova being an example of this). But when one participates in a blog with a large readership, then the problem comes. Those who have not been tried can’t be determined how they will respond; those who have been tried can — and do tend to suffer with human maladies. I know I do.

    Liam: I like your blog awards. But I think one caveat should be made. The Catholic Blog Award winner for any category should never be given to one who has asked for it, for one who has told their readers to vote for them. One who does that, I think, should no longer be on a list for possible awards.

  6. Liam says:

    Yes & Yes.

Leave a Reply

