That’s Papal Entertainment!

CNS features the line-up of performers for the pope’s visit to the New York area on April 20th. Kelly Clarkson will headline a four-hour event at St Joseph Seminary in Yonkers. Stig Edgren is in charge of the music outside of Mass.

(H)e wanted to “keep it young” and is using alternative rock, Christian rock bands and closing the show with Clarkson. He said that he booked Clarkson as soon as he took the assignment. “I was looking for an artist who was a good role model, a success, with no scandals.”

No scandals: always good for us. I don’t think Mr Edgren checked everything Ms Clarkson has ever said about ESCR, Terri Schaivo, and the TLM. But I’m sure some enterprising and helpful elf will check on that for us.

Meanwhile, Ms Clarkson is pleased about her gig:

“I was so excited to be asked to sing for the pope! I grew up singing church music, and it’s always been a dream of mine to perform ‘Ave Maria.’ To have that dream come true on such a special occasion is truly a blessing.”

Maybe it’s just because I’ve played the chestnut so many times, but I don’t see the particular appeal of the Schubert. Every other Catholic couple have it sung at their wedding. Harry Connick composing special pieces for this event: that’s interesting to me. I wonder what kind of Ave Maria he would write …

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Church News, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That’s Papal Entertainment!

  1. Gavin says:

    The Schubert is a lovely piece, in my opinion. I’d rather not have a pop star defiling it, but I’m a purist. I’ll agree there’s some much better choral arrangements, but frankly I think it’s just time to say “everything that can be composed for the text has been” and put it to rest.

    I think it would be better to have some sort of classical concert, given the pope’s fondness for Mozart and such. A lot of that music seems more geared to entertaining the screaming fans rather than the pope. But hey, when I have a guest over I’m not one to make them hear the music I like. I guess I’m just weird like that…

  2. Brian says:

    There’s only one person I’d hire to sing “Ave Maria”: Aaron Neville. Harry Connick? Oh, yeah, he’s got real street cred with the younguns.

  3. Liam says:

    Can we get a Magnificat instead of an Ave?

Leave a Reply

