Missing

My dear wife told me of a strange encounter in the ladies’ restroom at church. Someone had put the Capital Campaign pledge thermometer in there. You have a picture in your mind, right? Our campaign committee had it mounted on a wooden stand about five feet high and updated it about every month to show how close to the $3.8M goal we were getting.

“How long ago did you see it there,” I asked.

“Several days ago. I didn’t know why someone had moved it in there, so I put it back in the vestibule,” she said.

“Hmm,” I said.

“Do you know how it got in there?”

“It was my idea.”

I explained that on Holy Thursday, the art/environment chairperson asked me if we needed to have it in the vestibule for Triduum. We both agreed it could be moved. But where?

My friend suggested the sacristy, but we both thought it likely someone would move it back. There might be only one or two women on the campaign committee, so I suggested if we left it in there, it might stay for awhile.

Little did I know my wife would “rectify” the situation.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family, Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

