One Day At A Time

One of my wife’s favorite bands is the Eagles. She has the Live In Melbourne dvd and plays it often. This song is always enough to rouse me from my book, the computer, or the kitchen to come in and watch it. I was in a funk for most of Thursday morning, but this tune resurrected my day.

You’ll have to click the link to watch and listen. I’d prefer to respect the artists by not posting it here. It’s one of the best concert dvd’s I’ve seen–well worth an acquisition.

Joe Walsh seems like such an interesting guy. While I followed rock music well into the 80′s, I never got into the overboard fan hero worship thing. Walsh is upfront about his struggle with alcohol: I admire that. He plays lots of instruments well, including the guitar. He doesn’t take himself as seriously as some of his bandmates. That’s okay.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Day At A Time

  1. Great call, Todd. Joe did an appearance in my hometown for ex-cons graduating from an adult DARE-type program.
    I consider Joe Walsh one of the greatest unsung heroes of our geezer generation of rockers. I had his albums et al BEFORE he replaced Bernie Leadon in the Eagles (who are also geniuses, live, when they’re not bashing each other!) Walsh’s musicality, both as an axeman and a singer are much like James Taylor- you don’t expect to call their “sound” beautiful, but they’re virtually perfect in execution.
    Nice post.

  2. Todd says:

    Another thing about Joe: I’ve always been impressed with his style as a guitar soloist. He states what needs to be stated, and never (at least in the recordings I’ve heard or on the dvd) extends beyond what is necessary. Get the licks in and get out of the way for the rest of the song.

Leave a Reply

