The Armchair Liturgist: The Trinity in Song

A feast to celebrate this weekend, and perhaps a dilemma for the pragmatists among us. If you’re using four-part hymns, many of them have a final verse invoking the Trinity. Do you sing all the verses? Do you stick tight to the two-verse syndrome and tell people to sing the first and last verses? Or are the Trinitarian doxologies a bit of overkill for a feast you know will be preached?

Any favorite pieces of sacred song you’ll be employing or wish that you could program?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Armchair Liturgist. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Armchair Liturgist: The Trinity in Song

  1. Gavin says:

    We sing all the verses, all the time. Following a common Lutheran tradition, I typically play a short interlude before a doxology verse to set it apart. Trinity, being my favorite feast, is the one day I will admit to putting my personal taste first and so I always program my favorite Catholic hymn, “O God, Almighty Father”, or for any feminists in the crowd, “O Deity, somewhat-mighty-but-not-too-mighty Creator” I do so love German Catholic hymnody!

    Of course, being a good liturgist, I’m sure you or your priest will remind your congregation that the GIRM instructs all to make a bow of the head at any mention of the three persons of the Holy Trinity, right? Good day to bring that up.

  2. Jeff Pinyan says:

    Or are the Trinitarian doxologies a bit of overkill for a feast you know will be preached?

    Might as well skip the sign of the cross, too… >;)

  3. Jeff Pinyan says:

    Gavin: Of course, being a good liturgist, I’m sure you or your priest will remind your congregation that the GIRM instructs all to make a bow of the head at any mention of the three persons of the Holy Trinity, right? Good day to bring that up.

    You get a cookie, sir. Or a gold star. Whichever you prefer. Excellent opportunity for a simple reminder of a simple act of reverence!

  4. Liam says:

    Of course, were one in the Spirit of Vatican II to take an Eastern perspective: there is no such thing as overkill in proclaiming the Trinity. The West’s tendency to reduce God to Jesus (and, in the 20th century, the Holy Spirit) is not a good thing. We need, if anything, more to be more expressly Trinitarian, if if anything.

  5. Neil says:

    Dear Todd,

    If I could suggest a short yet theologically rich Trinitarian hymn (that happens to be available in both PDF and Sibelius formats online), I would point our readers to Charles Wesley’s “Hail, Holy, Holy, Holy Lord”.

    Best,
    Neil

  6. Gavin:

    A timely suggestion–I included that in my homily, see by clicking on my name…

  7. Matthew Meloche says:

    The Lorica of St. Patrick (from the Pius X hymnal) or I Clasp Unto My Heart (from Hymns, Psalms and Spiritual Canticles) is my personal favorite. Though I’ve no complaints with “O God Almighty Father.”

Leave a Reply

