Bishops Bothering Bishops

It’s not even a college commencement.

Under the provisions of Canon 763, I hereby deny you permission to speak in the Archdiocese of Los Angeles

I note that Cardinal Mahony is bothered by Bishop Robinson’s American tour and stop in LA. It will be interesting to see what the blogosphere factions make of this. Cardinal Mahony has always struck me as a Law and order kind of prelate. The motumaniacs can’t get beyond his annual RE Congress, but I think his handling of tacking that extra foot on his cathedral and his dismissal of protesters in LA reveals a lot more about the man.

Bishop Robinson has been outspoken about looking at issues that might have contributed to clergy sex abuse and episcopal cover-up. If mandatory celibacy is a potential part of the problem (and I’m not saying it is or isn’t) then I don’t see the problem with bishops discerning that behind closed doors. I haven’t followed Robinson’s story that much, but if he tried to get his brother Australian bishops to look at issues and they rebuffed him, I can understand the man taking this public.

Mahony has taken a lot of conservative heat for his teflon dodging of mismanagement accusations. I can see how this kind of event might bother him. I don’t find it surprising, and I’ll repeat my assertion not often believed in the Catholic blogosphere: this cardinal is no liberal and no friend of liberals.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Church News, Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bishops Bothering Bishops

  1. Jeff Pinyan says:

    I’m quite pleased to see the Cardinal taking action, and disappointed that the Australian Bishop (from reports) plans to do it anyway.

    (What is the “extra foot” thing you mentioned?)

  2. Todd says:

    Mahony wanted the longest cathedral in the US, so OL Angels was intentionally designed to beat St Patrick’s by one foot.

  3. I haven’t seen the book. Has anyone here had a chance to read it?

Leave a Reply

