How About That Monstrance?

Speaking of modern art, what do you make of this monstrance from the International Eucharistic Congress in Québec City?

(Image Credit: CNS, Nancy Wiechec)

More on the Congress’s Ark of the New Covenant.

The event’s theme song English lyrics are here. The sound clip of the song itself is provided, too, sung (in French) by the Ensemble de musique sacrée de Québec.

Any observations?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Art, Liturgical Music. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How About That Monstrance?

  1. Aletha says:

    Well, it’s certainly a kind of modern art I can understand. And clearly it has meaning, doesn’t it. Anyone can see its meaning. It is not, as so often finds with modern art, elitist and purposefully dismissive. On the contrary, it draws you in. Wow, interesting.

  2. I might get used to it, but I find it jarring; and I think jarring people is very much not what you want to do to people praying before our Eucharistic Lord.

  3. Sean says:

    It looks a little silly. Maybe it is a kind of liturgical bling? I wonder how heavy it is.

  4. Gavin says:

    It looks fake in that picture.

  5. My guess is that the size of it is meant for visibility in a venue of larger than usual size. I’d appreciate an opportunity to see this from the back of the hall or from the first or second balcony – might be a very different experience.

    I wonder: is it double-sided?

  6. Gavin says:

    That song is rather good as well. Although the you-know-whats will no doubt complain that it says “bread” or “wine”.

  7. Anne says:

    I recall reading something about this monstrance a while ago. I can’t remember where. It’s made of wood, about 5 ft in diameter and 5 feet high for visibility. The host is about 18 inches wide. If I recall where I read this I’ll post it.

  8. Jimmy Mac says:

    Hernias, anyone?

  9. Jeff Pinyan says:

    Sorry for being a curmudgeon about this, but…

    I was watching the close of Morning Prayer at the I.E.C. this morning on EWTN, and I was surprised to hear it in Spanish (it being Quebec). It turns out today’s focus is on Spanish-speaking countries.

    But I wonder why the Ordinary of Morning Prayer couldn’t be in Latin (since this is an international gathering).

    Sorry to bring it up, it just strikes me as a bit odd.

  10. Tony says:

    If you grab it from the wrong side, you can put an eye out.

  11. Dustin says:

    The asymmetry of the thing is intolerable. And Gavin’s thoughts mirrored my own, in that it does look like it was photoshopped in or something.

  12. Nancy Wiechec says:

    As the photographer of this image, I can say this photo is not fake and was not at all manipulated in Photoshop.

Leave a Reply

