Life on tv

Since my return to the realm of television in 1993 (I hadn’t owned one and watched little since the mid-70′s), I’ve been an admirer of David Attenborough‘s documentaries. I first saw The Private Life of Plants around the time I got married and I’ve watched old VCR tapes of it several times. Last year, I used a gift card to pick up this marvelous series* on dvd. The other day, we picked up The Life of Mammals from the public library. That has been a treat the past few days as I’ve been recovering from a bout with the flu.

It strikes me someone should write, produce, and film a series on astronomy that goes into sixty-plus hour  depth that Attenborough’s on life. If it involved travel, I’d like to sign up, of course. If it was to be truly comprehensive, meaning with someone like the inimitable Sir David narrating on-site, I think we have a few centuries to wait.

* Why, do you suppose, my daughter objects to watching it during or near mealtime?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in film, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

