One of Three

 

Fill us then with love, and let us be bound together with love as we go our diverse ways, united in this one spirit which makes You present in the world, and which makes You witness to the ultimate reality that is love. Love has overcome. Love is victorious. Amen. (The Asian Journal of Thomas Merton)

I have encountered three saintly Thomases in my life. Significantly, I worked under the patronage of Thomas More for six years in Kansas City. More recently, I have switched patronal allegiance to Thomas Aquinas. A more constant patron, at least in my adult life, has been Thomas the Trappist Monk.

I read his autobiography during my drifting, slacking post-college years. His other books, from my wife, more paged through than read through, populate the middle of my office bookshelf

It has been forty years since he has died. His death went unnoticed to an unchurched boy looking forward more to the microscope he would receive for his birthday present. Yet his restlessness and searching gives this adult seeker a great sense of companionship. Not comfort. No comfort for the one who prays this, only hope:

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.

 

I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end.

 

Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.

 

But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you and I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing.

 

And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road although I may know nothing about it.

 

Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death, I will not fear, for you are ever with me and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

An ideal Advent saint.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of Three

  1. Fran says:

    A lovely post – I started a new job this week and missed this date completely. I think I will link to you if you don’t mind.

  2. I am just beginning to appreciate Thomas Merton, Richard Rohr,and other contemplative writers that call us to enter life’s mystery with hope and confidence in God’s love.

Leave a Reply

