Mishaps Avoided and Not

The young miss had a beauty appointment with her Aunt Barb yesterday. I had enough time to get to Best Buy to pick up something for my brother, then get on I-35 for what I thought would be an uneventful road trip with the family.

Hardly.

No sooner did I get on the interstate, did I see one car in the ditch on my right. The snowfall wasn’t too bad, I thought. Visibility was impaired, but not low. Take some care, I thought as I pulled into the lane with the rest of the traffic … plodding along at near 30mph. Probably wise, I thought, but this was going to put a serious dent in quality time with my bro … or make me late getting back to church.

Within a minute of that first off-road auto, a red car went into a very dangerous spin as it passed me on the left. Then in my rearview, I saw a truck skid, swerve, swerve back and get under control.

This is nuts, I thought. The driving conditions weren’t that bad, but they weren’t trivial and some people seemed to motor along as if this was just a Saturday in the park, thinking it was the fourth of July or something.

We turned around … at the next exit, not the median. The young miss is disappointed her hair care will have to wait, but we had a nice meal at the neighborhood pancake joint.

Then we had the “exploding” Advent candle at Mass last night. Leading off his homily, the pastor mentioned the nice job our lector did on Saint Paul. If she could proclaim that one-sentence reading (a full minute-and-a-half) well, something remarkable would happen, as he said before liturgy. It did. No sooner had we uttered, “Thanks be to God,” did the 4th Advent candle topple out of its holder, off the wreath and break on the floor, shattering the glass follower.

We have a big space in between the two halves of the assembly seating, so nobody got hurt.

Life is always interesting …

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family, Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mishaps Avoided and Not

  1. Randolph Nichols says:

    It remains one of life’s mysteries that people continue to drive at high speeds during snow and ice storms. Yesterday, while driving up the treacherous Rt. 2 hill in Arlington (west of Boston) in blizzard conditions, numerous cars and vans were skidding out of control. I kept to 30 mph and under and was still nervous.

    An aside on the recent weather: in its 45 year history, the Boston Archdiocesan Choir School had never cancelled a Christmas concert due to weather until this last year. (There are three annual Christmas concerts at the home parish and usually one or more given on the road.) This past weekend we cancelled two! No one has mentioned “climate change” as a factor yet, but it does make you wonder. (Since those concerts and the cd sales that result from them cover a third of the cost for educating each child at the school, this is a big hit.)

  2. Liam says:

    Randolph

    I heard today second hand they will be rescheduled for Epiphany Sunday.

    I went from Melrose to St Paul’s yesterday only to find Cambridge had imposed a snow emergency so there was zip parking.

    That hill on Rte 2 is a nice 400+ steep incline. Some people are of the opinion that the best way to get up a steep hill is not to downshift but to plow into it as fast as you can. I re-route myself to avoid them if I can.

  3. Anne says:

    Glad my husband and I went last Sunday to the BACS concert. Had a nice chat with Jennifer Lester at the reception in the rectory. Lovely person.

  4. Randolph Nichols says:

    Liam and Anne,

    I spent the afternoon with Jennifer and John (the former Headmaster) stuffing Christmas eve and day programs with flyers announcing the January 4th rescheduling. Though a few members of the men’s schola have commitments elsewhere, it should be a good show.

    Todd,
    Sorry that we Easterners are taking over this thread. Remember, though, I grew up in rural Kansas. Now there you have real ice storms.

Leave a Reply

