I’m Ashing You: Ready For Lent?

I know some of you are being diligent, as the search for “palms to ashes” has landed a number of visitors here the past few days. If you haven’t burned palms yet and are unsure, my advice would be to throw yourself on the mercy of the local Catholic bookstore. If that fails, avoid the urge to take up smoking and do your best with what you have.

I’m nearly ready in my parish. The tradition here has been to order ashes, not burn palms, so I’ve gone with that this year. For the liturgies of Ash Wednesday, we have sign-ups for Communion Ministers, Lectors, and all. Lectors are fine. Hospitality people not so much. CM’s in between. And I have music for all four Masses tomorrow so I can play MC as needed.

Our great cross is moved from the narthex to the center aisle of the nave–that’s a tradition here. It seems to be in the way, but I guess that’s the point.

Personally, I hope I’m ready. I’m going to make a better effort to get to daily Mass, and I have a book of meditations with which I’m hoping to make some progress. I think the practice of not surfing other blogs during Lent is a good one. It’s worked for me in the past. So you’ll be seeing no links here to the shenanigans of the blogosphere for the next seven weeks. Except maybe in a general way in the blogroll.

We’ll continue with daily posts on RCIA, and hopefully more posts on Scripture. If you have decided to refrain from blogging or surfing the coming season, I wish you a joyful and holy Lent. Feel free to drop an e-mail if you wish. Remember that we reject the “Welborn Protocol” here: private correspondence is private, and will not be used for blogging unless you request it (and I approve) or unless I request it and you grant me permission.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Parish Life, The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

