Wrong Way Film Criticism

I notice the usual Catholic bloggers are falling over themselves to tell you a horrid movie is coming out soon. More so, the criticisms of Dan Brown seem to have been exhausted, so they need to tell us the director’s a sop. Or is it sob? I get those two confused reading the blogosphere sometimes.

I have caught a few bits of the first movie on cable tv, but never all the way through. I looked at one of Dan Brown’s books, but decided it wasn’t worth my time. I’m sure our corporate masters at Hollywood were pleased to see Catholics generate so much cash for them the last time around. There’s something less than that in 2009–which is good, imo. Still, the tack that we shouldn’t go see a film version of a work of fiction because it plays with the truth, it casts the Church in a bad light, and besides, the main players are close to the worst writer, director, and haircut ever–all that seems rather weak. And petty.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in film, The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrong Way Film Criticism

  1. Lee says:

    I read “The DaVinci Code” at the time of the controversey surroung the first film. Speaking as an English teacher and a writer, I thought it was poorly written.

    I had no desire to read anything else he wrote.

  2. Lee says:

    “surrounding” not surroung!

  3. Patti says:

    I thought “The DaVinci Code” was OK. No Tolkein or Austen, mind you, but it moved fast and had a good mystery. I tried “Angels and Demons,” but it was too violent for me. I didn’t make it past the first few chapters.
    I think that people take these novels far too seriously.

Leave a Reply

