Daily Archives: 4 July 2009

Rosary v Bible

I don’t mean to imply that this is some kind of competition, but Carl Olson’s premise in this post at Insight Scoop got me thinking. Here’s the quote: One problem with this is that many Catholics do not have a … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | 5 Comments

Music For The Fourth

It’s a great day to enjoy band music and stirring patriotic fare. Me, I think I’ll settle down with a listen to Alan Hovhaness’s second symphony, “Mysterious Mountain.” You might think this is a strange choice, but Hovhaness struck me … Continue reading

Posted in Music | 1 Comment

Newman: Venerable to Blessed

As a campus minister, I’m pleased to see one of my tribe move to the next square in the four-step movement to official sainthood. The Boston Globe link mentions the deacon who “prayed” to Cardinal Newman. I hope that could … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, spirituality | Leave a comment