Busy Summer Days

Posting will continue to be erratic, unless Neil has some brilliant insights to share. I have another five or six posts planned and sketched on Sing to the Lord, but these will have to wait a few days. I have a musical setting of Lenten Gospel Acclamation IX to post sometime soon, too.

It’s been a busy week both at church and home. The young miss had a soccer camp this week. VBS is thundering our way next week–preparations are in full swing. I pieced together a powerpoint of visual for Genesis 1, the Monday morning opening prayer. The family and I just got back from cooking and serving the evening meal at a halfway house in the city. (But for the grace of God, there go I …) The students asked me to play some reflective music for their liturgy the other Wednesday night. I thought some American shape-note music played on my German-made zither with a little Chinese note-bending would do the trick.

Tomorrow we’re off to see a friend get ordained to the permanent diaconate. Three-hour drive to Dubuque, Mass and reception, then three hours back. Sunday is Fr Ev’s farewell–outgoing pastor. Then the new guy rolls in mid-week. The young miss and I will be thick in VBS, then she cuts out for the two-day babysitting course offered at the local hospital.

Man, I’m going to need a vacation after this pace.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family, Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

