Daily Archives: 19 July 2009

Searching For Eisenhower Catholicism

dotCommonweal notes George Weigel’s latest essay, “After Notre Dame,” and link the Fort Wayne/South Bend diocesan organ. I found a more web-friendly link that avoids the extra pages of the pdf newspaper. Dr Weigel took some substantial hits on all … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry, Politics | 12 Comments

The Armchair Liturgist: Handling the Assumption

Next month’s solemnity, because it falls on Saturday, is non-obligatory. Sit in the purple chair and set your parish’s worship calendar for the weekend of August 14-16. Our archdiocese’s liturgy office reminded pastors: August 15 – Solemnity of the Assumption … Continue reading

Posted in The Armchair Liturgist | 3 Comments

Wedding Opportunities

The first wedding I ever played was my sister’s, back in 1982. The last one was yesterday. I confess I like weddings these days. I like them a lot. I see them as a key opportunity for evangelization, and I … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry | Leave a comment