Viewing

With the young miss away at camp this week, my wife and I have been viewing some films together that aren’t exactly kiddie fare.

She likes mysteries, so we saw the frenetic-paced and gory Angels and Demons Tuesday night. I pretty much ignored the Catholic criticism–what little of it there was–and focused on the gaffes in the science. What is it with filmmakers dressing scientists in lab coats? It’s like women religious appearing in habits. I think my wife was disappointed. She expected a more thoughtful mystery like Code, which I still haven’t seen. I had the film figured out, and I haven’t even read the book. The young priest was just too creepy.

Tonight we watched Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, which I liked almost as much as I thought I would. About an hour in, I figured out the first fifteen minutes of the film, but it was still fairly enjoyable. Jim Carrey not playing a maniac: what a concept. Kate Winslet is pretty divine in just about every movie she’s in, so no surprises there.

I haven’t completely given up on the small screen just yet, either. I’ve been hoping there would be another tv show that would catch my interest. That hasn’t happened since Firefly, but I caught on to that show two years after it died. So I’ve watched the four episodes of Warehouse 13 this month. It’s still derivative of other successful programs, even enjoyable ones, so maybe the chimera will work. I wish the sf-pretender network would get real writers. A few things I will say about W13: I like the steampunk touches. I care about the characters. I’m not turned off yet, but then again, I never saw an episode of Moonlighting. So everything’s cool.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in film. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Viewing

  1. Lee says:

    Warehouse is okay so far – what I’ve seen of it. But it is derivative. (Ever see Friday the 13th – The Series?)

    Eureka has some good moments.

Leave a Reply

