Say It Ain’t So, Joe

I have to admit politics wasn’t as much fun to watch after last November’s election. Oh sure, there was a little blip after November 4th when I got banned for gloating on a mostly-Republican web site. Not watching our Corporate Media Masters (cmm has a much better ring to it than msm, I think) I felt somewhat out of the loop. But it didn’t matter. The GOP grades rolled in with failing marks in four subjects, war 1, war 2, hurricane, and economy. And while a teacher may fuss for making fun of another student’s report card, let’s be real. The blogosphere has no authority, only observers. It’s like an eternal classroom without any teacher at all. And it suits the Republican modus operandi these days: if you didn’t get what you want, just shout louder. There’s nobody there to police you. And to be fair, the people you’re shouting at pretty much lack the self-discipline, too–I’m an equal opportunity critic this morning.

I see the junior Senator from Connecticut, who never seemed to see a war he didn’t like, thinks now’s the time to put the breaks on federal spending. Well, good for him. Thanks to an eight-month blink leading off the last presidential administration, we have two wars, a broken budget re-traditionalized for a new Reagan Era, and a whole lot of profiteering in the Middle East, not to mention among insurance companies.

Maybe politics is getting fun again. I got re-banned on the old conservative web page, and doesn’t it feel like last Fall again? I should enjoy it while it lasts. Wouldn’t it be delicious if some third-party 2012 populist reduces the GOP to a seven-percent solution? That might be tv worth watching.

Meanwhile, I get to deal with the mundane things of figuring out how to juggle my own family budget over the next month or two. Hey, Joe: I can’t afford one or maybe even two of the following items coming due this September. Which one should I cut out of the family budget:

- Religious education fee?

- Foreign language class?

- School pictures

- Payments on one of two medical bills from this past May?

- Family outdoors weekend at my daughter’s heart camp?

C’mon; you’re a big financial watchdog. We know you have the expertise. Surely you have an opinion. I’ve made it easy for you. I’ve already taken my and my wife’s personal considerations off the table. We won’t be stimulating the local economy by any romantic lunches in our city’s restaurants, let alone a weekend golf getaway. No new clothes, no classes, no membership in the astronomy club, none of that peripheral junk.

You have two kids and lots more experience dealing with the bigger budgets of government. Tell my daughter in no uncertain financial terms what must be sacrificed.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family, Politics, The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Say It Ain’t So, Joe

  1. Liam says:

    One word: Hartford.

  2. Tony says:

    Hee, hee, hee… Todd, you ol’ “independent”, you (you’re about as independent as I am). You guys won (as the President keeps telling us). He’s handing out money he’s stolen from us like it’s Christmas. Cash for clunkers, cash for refrigerators, maybe he can come up with a “cash for Congressmen” program :)

    But the down side of “you won” is that because there’s a 70 seat majority in the House and a filibuster proof majority in the Senate (as soon as they can replace the Senator from Chappaquiddick with another liberal Democrat), you guys own it.

    “Yabbut Bush!” you say. Well I didn’t like Bush’s TARP program, and Obama took it and tripled down on the deficit.

    Since Obama’s never met a tax or spending program he didn’t like, I don’t imagine any fiscal restraint any time soon.

    I have a suggestion for you. Do it like Obama does. Don’t eliminate any spending, just either rack up your credit card, or rob your employer at gun point.

    It’s going to be fun in 2010 when Congress flips and Obama becomes a lame duck. But I won’t gloat. I will be too relieved for the country.

Leave a Reply

