Comfort Food

On the Food Network, Emeril Lagasse and Rachael Ray have both done shows featuring “comfort food,” well loved recipes that pamper the eater with tastes well within the box: spaghetti and meatballs, macaroni and cheese, chicken soup–stuff like that.

The last two days have turned the family home into a sick ward. The young miss was still sleeping Sunday at 11. We can tell she’s not feeling well when a book isn’t read before Sunday brunch. The flu-like symptoms stayed today–it was a no-brainer to keep her home. My wife was also not feeling well–it was mid-afternoon before she got out of bed. I’m feeling like I’m running about 50% myself–it’s a bad allergy time for me. I did some work from home then went in to the office around dinner time and will stay for a 9:30 meeting with students.

I wanted to tell you about a recipe I attempted today. The women of the family love potatoes in almost any form. Italian sausage is also a favorite, so I cooked up an invention that was part-Indian: sauteing spices: garlic, cumin, coriander and paprika in butter. I processed green pepper and a little jalapeño and mixed it in. I chopped up three potatoes and let the whole thing simmer with an addition of condensed milk for about twenty minutes, mixing in the cooked sausage.

Italian meat, Indian cooking style, Spanish spices … it was different. My wife wasn’t too hungry, but the young miss gobbled down two servings. When I’m on my own, I like chicken soup when I’m feeling ill. There’s also nothing like a nice glass of juice. What about your comfort foods when you feel the need to care for yourself.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food, My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comfort Food

  1. Kevin in Texas says:

    That sounds like a great, creative combo recipe, Todd, and please don’t ask me for royalties if I steal it from you! ;-)

    My comfort foods are classic mac ‘n’ cheese, potatoes au gratin w/ sun-dried tomato pesto mixed in, and black bean soup w/ rice. Then there are the old “comfort desserts” like chocolate and peanut butter Haagen Dasz ice cream or chocolate peanut butter chip cookies! Anyone sensing a pattern here? Just stick me on a deserted island w/ dark chocolate, peanut butter, and sharo cheddar cheese and I’m a happy guy. Well, happier if you throw in some Negra Modelo beer or some chocolate milk (to accompany the comfort entrees and desserts, respectively!)

Leave a Reply

