Daily Archives: 31 October 2009

How To Make A Retreat

I wrote an article on retreats some time ago. My editor spiked it, but I found it still cluttering up my hard drive earlier tonight. So as I head off to a week of Lectio and silence and reflection and … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | 2 Comments

Meet Gambit

It’s been five years since we had a kitten in the house. The other two cats are not pleased, but they seem to be adjusting. Gambit is not an exact match to the departed Splinter; he has a light orange … Continue reading

Posted in My Family | 1 Comment

Unbiased Anti-Catholicism

Archbishop Timothy Dolan and the Pew Research Center take aim at the media this week. Catholic and conservative complaints are truly a mystery to me. Unlike one blogger and his commentariat, I can’t ever recall a direct confession from any … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Commentary, The Blogosphere | 5 Comments

RCIA 209: Rites of Baptism

Sections 209 through 214 give an explanation of the main elements of the baptism portion of the initiation rites. A summary first: 209. The celebration of baptism has as its center and high point the baptismal washing and the invocation … Continue reading

Posted in post-conciliar liturgy documents, RCIA, Rites | 2 Comments