Daily Archives: 29 November 2009

Dorothy’s Day

She said, “Don’t call me a saint. I don’t want to be dismissed so easily.” I like this quote from her: I feel that all families should have the conveniences and comforts which modern living brings and which do simplify … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | Leave a comment

Snacking on the Word: Sirach 21:1-6

I’ve thought this opening for Sirach 21 would make a thoughtful reading for reconciliation. I’ve pitched it to the pastor for this year’s liturgies. (We have two.) I’ve suggested we match it to Luke 3:2-3, 7-8, picking up a bit … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy, Parish Life, Rite of Penance, Scripture | Leave a comment

The Armchair Liturgist: Advent Blues

The long-simmering discussion for many conservatives is the use of blue during Advent. There are a few distinctions, often overlooked, I think. First, I see very little blue replacing purple these days. I think this is the barbell memory of … Continue reading

Posted in The Armchair Liturgist | 5 Comments