Snowed In

The Blizzard of ’09 has hit. There’s a foot of frozen, fluffy stuff in Ames already. Schools and interstates are already closed.

The young miss and I just finished a game of Scrabble over popcorn and hot chocolate while my wife watched a Christmas movie somewhere on cable. Very comfy.

Before that, the three of us were out shoveling and dusting off the car. Of course, by now it’s all covered again. I just hope I don’t have to dig out from it all at once. With my luck the winds will blow it all back.

The dog loves winter weather. She wandered off while I was clearing the driveway and had drifted two doors down in a neighbor’s backyard. When I called she bounded through the snow like a puppy. Not too bad for a teenage pup.

Late this afternoon I fixed a nice dinner of baked chicken, potatoes, homemade gravy, and corn. There’s nothing like comfort food on a day like this. I think maybe potato crepes for breakfast. A nice soup for lunch.

School was let out early today. That sort of cut out my stint at the noon holy day Mass, as my southern-born wife really, really, really doesn’t like to drive in this stuff. She wasn’t happy when I pondered going to church tonight, and for once, I agreed with her. Better to stay put. Most of our parishioners likely did, even the ones who don’t live too far from our center.

Any snow in your area?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

