The Deep Freeze Continues

… with some snow.

Today was the eighth baptismal anniversary of the young miss. A bit of an eye-roll when I suggested Ephesians 4:1b as a motto for the day:

(L)ive in a manner worthy of the call you have received.

Maybe her recent enjoyment of Hindi cinema inspired the choice of restaurant this evening. We had the dining area pretty much to ourselves until dessert. Campustown is still asleep–most of the students are still away, milking the last week of Christmas break. Plus the chill and snowfall kept some people off the roads.

We’ll see if school is cancelled or delayed tomorrow. My wife would like a postlude of Christmas vacation, I think: having all three of us home for a cozy indoor day. I suspect the women of the household will be disappointed. I’m planning on getting to the parish and get some music ready and starting to prepare a talk. I’m expecting school to be in session tomorrow, despite the predictions of blowing snow and temps heading to below zero.

Getting back to baptisms, how many of you commenters observe your baptismal anniversary? Or that of your children? It’s something I’ve promoted in my last few parishes. In fact, in one parish, the school observed not birthdays but the baptism days of its children.

I’m slightly embarassed that we’ve misplaced the young miss’s baptismal candle. She was probably relieved. My wife suggested digging out old photos, and we got the adolescent eye-roll.

I’m sure she went to bed earlier tonight with dreams of sleeping in tomorrow and staying home. As for me, I’ll be grateful we’re not in the ultimate deep freeze of the ice moons of the outer planets, like Europa, above.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Deep Freeze Continues

  1. Gavin says:

    Snow? I’m vacationing in Southern California. I forgot what that is.

Leave a Reply

