Snacking on the Word: Sirach 7:36

It’s a small wisdom saying, but something that stuck in my mind:

In whatever you do, remember your last days, and you will never sin.

It’s a hopeful thought that anything we might do would steer us away from sin. “Never” is a pretty strong word. Being closer to the end of my century than the beginning of it, I don’t mind admitting I do think about my last days on occasion. This was an interesting meditation for me. When I prepare the music listings for each Sunday, I often add a quote from Scripture or the saints or from Catholic literature. This quote I used yesterday, and when I played the 10PM Mass last night, there it was staring back at me.

I don’t think it refers to the afterlife, or really the fear of doing wrong and having it hang on us. Not for me, anyway. I was thinking about the perspective of life from the end of it. Why waste time and grace on what will amount to silly indulgences? When I look back on my life, is it more about the gratifications that detoured me, or about the steps that got me to where I am?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

