The 2008 Surge

Just a question for long-time US Catholic bloggers out there: did you notice a surge in Spring 2008 that fell off sharply after the elections that year? I know that many bloggers felt a definite fatigue after that long year. (I know it was one of my most demanding for a host of reasons.)

Once I discount my post on Miley Cyrus, I had a plateau from March through October that fell off about 20% in November. If I were a little more conceited and political, I’d think that those lost hits were losers’ disgust at how the American electorate betrayed them.

Also counter-intuitively, this site has had a small surge since Lent began. One common blogging/commenting practice is to fast from some, most, or all of internet browsing and discussion for these forty days. I could be picking up visitors from other sites, though. But how much does Lent affect your hit counts? Or, if you’re a commenter, how are you keeping Lent through your internet behavior this year?

Just a reminder: if you have a topic or item you would like me to blog about, just e-mail me. Interesting or unusual bits of liturgy news are always a welcome read, speaking for myself.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 2008 Surge

  1. Tony says:

    I’d think that those lost hits were losers’ disgust at how the American electorate betrayed them.

    So how is that hope and change working out for you.

  2. Todd says:

    Good question.

    Not being either a Democrat or an optimist, I’m not really happy with the current administration. That said, on a scale of one to ten a four is still better than a two.

    Knowing now much the major political parties are in bed with corporations, I didn’t really expect authentic change, and so far, I haven’t been disappointed.

    The entertainment value of Republicans in exile, however, ranks pretty high.

Leave a Reply

